Massachusetts will fine people $500 day for violating new travel coronavirus travel restrictions. In a new executive order, Governor Charlie Baker issued strict rules regarding travel into the Commonwealth of Massachusetts that included a 14 day quarantine.
The new order, effective August 1st, lays out new travel restrictions to help mitigate the spread of the coronavirus in the state. Specifically the order outlines the following new rules.
Anyone entering Massachusetts must quarantine for 14 days unless:
- They are coming from a state designated as a lower risk state by the MA Commissioner of Public Health
- Or, have not been present in a state NOT designated as a lower risk state by the MA Commissioner of Public Health for 14 days
- Or, have an official COVID-19 negative test result within the last 72 hours with them
Lower risks states are currently identified as those in the north eastern part of the United States. A current and full list can be seen here.
Upon arrival, non exempt travelers are required to complete and submit a Massachusetts travel form acknowledging their obligations under the new travel order.
The quarantine does not apply to the following situations:
- Transitory travel (e.g. a layover in an airport)
- People commuting for work
- Military personnel under federal or state direction
- People receiving medical treatment
- People performing critical infrastructure services (e.g. phone company technicians)
Travelers who are exempt do NOT need to complete the travel form.
Violations of the order will apparently constitute a civil violation that can result in a $500 per day fine per day the traveler failed to abide by the quarantine rules.